Date: 10th August 2007 at 3:26pm
Written by:

Manchester United have announced the squad numbers for the 2007/08 season.

I thought Tevez might get the No. 12 or 14 shirt but the Argentinian striker will wear the No. 32 – not quite what I expected but if it’s good for him…

Owen Hargreaves has got Heinze’s old number four shirt while the want-away left-back will take over 14 from Alan Smith. Anderson will be wearing the No. 8 what had been Rooney’s before Fergie granted him the Law’s famous No. 10 this summer.

Ben Foster will play in No. 12 as soon as he’s back from his injury which effectively confirms he’ll be our second choice keeper and will probably be first choice next season. Still, I though he would get a higher number to make way for Tevez.

The full list of numbers is as follows:

1 Edwin van der Sar
2 Gary Neville
3 Patrice Evra
4 Owen Hargreaves
5 Rio Ferdinand
6 Wes Brown
7 Cristiano Ronaldo
8 Anderson
9 Louis Saha
10 Wayne Rooney
11 Ryan Giggs
12 Ben Foster
13 Ji-Sung Park
14 Gabriel Heinze
15 Nemanja Vidic
16 Michael Carrick
17 Luis Nani
18 Paul Scholes
19 Gerard Piqué
20 Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
21 Dong Fangzhuo
22 John O’Shea
23 Jonny Evans
24 Darren Fletcher
25 Danny Simpson
26 Phil Bardsley
27 Mikael Silvestre
28 Darron Gibson
29 Tomasz Kuszczak
30 Lee Martin
32 Carlos Tevez
33 Chris Eagles
35 Kieran Lee
36 David Gray
37 Craig Cathcart
38 Tom Heaton
39 Fraizer Campbell