Date: 29th August 2016 at 9:16am
Written by:

With Sam Allardyce at the England helm now, after Roy Hodgson presided over a far from successful Euro 2016 Finals, in France, the former Sunderland manager names his first England squad last night.

The squad contains three Manchester United players, with the trio being:

? Chris Smalling

? Wayne Rooney


? Luke Shaw

Shaw`s inclusion is as predicted over the weekend and is just reward for the defender making a terrific comeback from the double leg fracture that saw the full-back miss the majority of last season.

We understand that although Wayne Rooney was the captain under Roy Hodgson, Allardyce has yet to confirm who will lead England during his reign.

The full squad is as below:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley).

Defenders: Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal).

Strikers: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City).