Date: 14th April 2009 at 8:24pm
Written by:

Well, it’s strange. United are on course to win the league for the third season running. In 2007, we played the best football of the three seasons: we had three players nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award (Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, Cristiano Ronaldo). Last season we were the strongest team in Europe and the most efficient: yet had only one nominee, the unstoppable Ronaldo.

Behold the list of 2009: United, performing below par almost all season have FIVE candidates. It’s crazy, to be honest.

But even more crazy is that United’s best, most consistent players are absent from the list. Rio Ferdinand had a good season but nowhere near the heights he reached in 2007/08 yet he’s on. Darren Fletcher and Michael Carrick, who carried the midfield all season, are absent.

Edwin van der Sar broke every record imaginable but he had very little to do during that run, made less than two saves per game. Meanwhile, up front Wayne Rooney held the team together and performed consistently all season – I’d say he’d deserve his place more than Ronaldo…

And Ryan Giggs, well, there’s a great deal of sentimentalism involved. He had very good games but overall he didn’t have a great season; he was a deserving candidate two seasons ago but now…

Oh well. I hope Vidic will win it otherwise it will go to Steven Gerrard… and he wouldn’t deserve it.